Fort McMurray, Again

Today I drove up to Fort McMurray. It has been a while since I was last here – end of February or early March I think. For all the times I’ve been up here, this is only the second time I’ve ever driven. I’m happy with that, because it is a long drive from Calgary and I can’t read while I drive (I can read when I fly). The scenery is sort of pretty once you get closer to Fort McMurray, but I hold a special place in my heart for northern forests so that might just be me. Other than that it is a lot of highway and being passed by other pickup trucks.

It is surprisingly hot up here. It feels just like it did in LA – hot and muggy and I want to go sit by the swimming pool. unfortunately, there is no pool and I’m not going to get to wear pretty dresses. I’m used to being up here when it’s miserable, or at least chilly so the heat is just confusing me. Once I cover up with nomex, a hard-hat and gloves it’s going to be cooking! It is a nice change from the rain that is plaguing Calgary and I should be happy that I won’t get soaked in the field.

I’m back in a camp that used to feel like my second home. I spent a lot of time here in the winter of 2008/2009 and it is kind of nice to stay in a place where you know how everything works. I am completely comfortable with the dining hall, the exercise room and where to park my truck. Those small things make a difference. I am not in the same room I was last time, just the same wing. I haven’t heard/seen my neighbours, which might mean I don’t have any, or they are on crazy night shifts and will wake me up at 2 am. Only time will tell…

Leave a Reply

