Italian Wedding Soup

I love soup, and I particularly love Italian Wedding soup. I haven’t had it in a while and had kind of forgotten about until I saw Everybody Likes Sandwiches recipe for Italian Wedding Soup. I loved how her soup looked (so hearty!) and decided I should try it now that winter is here. 

I made a few minor changes based on the ingredients at I had on hand. The meatballs were seasoned with fennel, savory, garlic, oregano and Worcestershire sauce, and the broth with garlic and the juice from half a lemon. I used about half home-made veggie broth (which already had been made with some cheese rind) and half organic chicken broth and since I didn’t have any fresh kale I used some spinach instead. Even Jonny (who isn’t a huge soup fan) thought it was delicious! 

I made the meatballs in the afternoon, so it was a quick dinner to make after our dog walk. I’ve filed the recipe away, and will make it again during the school year because it’s the perfect “busy night dinner” if the meatballs are ready to go.

Leave a Reply

