Butter

We’ve decided that we won’t be eating margarine anymore at the MacDonald house. We’ve only been using margarine since I’ve been too lazy to keep butter nice and soft – and it has to be soft or it won’t spread and then what’s the point? But I really have no excuses, I own two butter dishes and filling them with butter takes way less time than, say, making yogurt every week.

My father in law gave me an Emile Henry butter pot a few years ago and since it holds almost a whole block of butter I figured I’d use it as new everyday butter dish. I haven’t used it before, but it turns out that it is pretty easy: get the two pieces out of the cupboard and wash them, fill the top with butter (pack it in!), fill the cup with about a 1/2 inch of water, connect the two pieces and put it on your counter. Simple and so far it’s working.

Any ideas what to do with a full tub of margarine?

Leave a Reply

