Crocus Sighting!

We missed a ton of snow while we were in Vegas, some of which is still lingering in the river valley and in shady spots. It feels like spring is never going to come to Calgary, even though snow in April isn’t uncommon, because the average temperature is still hovering just above zero. But even without warm weather the trails have started to dry out again and Patches and I were able to walk off the main trail in the off-leash park this afternoon.

While on the side trails I spotted something that made me very happy – purple prairie crocuses dotting the hillside!

I’ve been on the lookout for them since we returned but it seems they sprung up overnight to surprise me. This is about the time of year I’ve seen them in the past so I guess that we’re not as far behind on spring this year as I thought.

Leave a Reply

