End of the Month: April

I can’t believe that it’s already the end of April! It has been a busy month – I finished school for the year, we went to Las Vegas for a week and I spent the last two days giving my house a thorough cleaning. We had snow (recently), the rhubarb came up and I spotted the first crocuses of the year. Many other things happened, but here’s how I did on my goals for 2011:

Run a (nother) marathon – I ran 97.5 miles this month, which was a little less than I’d originally planned. I decided to register for a marathon happening week later than I’d thought so I changed the training schedule (again). I ran 13 miles today (and it was agony) but I’m going to crush my next 20 miler in May!

Take 5 photos a week for the whole year – I took lots of photos in Vegas (although not up to our usual number) but only managed to take photos on 14 days.

Stop biting my nails – fail.

Go on one canoe trip, one backpacking trip, one road trip and one camping trip in 2011 – today I booked backcountry sites for our first backpacking trip of 2011!

Try something new once a month – in April I tried hot yoga for the first time and am totally addicted. I’ve been 12 times now – which was #15 on my to-do-in-my-twenties list – and I’m looking forward to keeping up my newest exercise!

Take a photograph of the night sky – not yet

Go on a picnic for picnic sake – No, but I was thinking cold apple pie would be delicious at the picnic.

Get my grocery budget to $75/week – probably but only because we didn’t eat a lot at home this month.

Cook one meal a week as a family – Not this month – Jonny was away for two weeks and I ate by myself 😦

Bike/walk/bus more, drive less – As long as you don’t count flying we were good.

Increase my backyard food production
– Seeds sprouted and today we started building our raised beds. We had 8 cubic yards of soil delivered this morning, which ended up on the road and had to be shoveled onto our yard. We are tired, but managed to get two beds built today. Hopefully next month we will actually get plants into our beds.

Read 52 Books in One Year– this is number #16 on my to-do-in-my-twenties list and I am almost 50% of the way there! I read 8 books this month for a total of 21 books this year. Of the books read this month, I enjoyed The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley (as recommended by my mum) the most and I’ve got the second book in the series waiting in the basement for me.

That’s not a good success rate this month but for the things I did do, I think I did them pretty well. Onward to May!

One thought on “End of the Month: April

Leave a Reply

