Half Marathon Training Week 6 (and some other stuff)

Previous training posts: Week 1, Week 2, Week 3, Week 4; Week 5

I still have my cold so there wasn’t a lot of half marathon training going on this week. I missed my workouts early in the week because I was feeling so crummy, but by Saturday I had my energy back. I felt comfortable running but  I was just too congested to be in the hot yoga room for 90 minutes without blowing my nose!

It was also one of those weeks where I had a lot going on outside of working out so being sick actually gave me the time to get some other much needed stuff done. I also did some not so needed stuff – like paint my nails blue:

The weather this week was lovely – cool enough to comfortably run but still war enough to wear shorts and a t-shirt. Even if I couldn’t run on the trails, Patches and I spent lots of time walking down by the river this week.

Monday: rest
My cold was probably at its worst and after a day in the classroom I felt like doing nothing more strenuous than sitting on the couch.

Tuesday: weights + frisbee
I did some weights in the morning before heading to school. After school was a walk with the dog and then frisbee. It was our last game of the season, which is good because it’s getting dark so early!

Wednesday: rest
Like last week, after picking up the CSA I didn’t have very much time before lawn bowling. The dog and I went for a quick walk and then I was off.

Thursday: 3 miles
Today was a “test run”. I went out with the dog and did a few easy miles. I felt ok during and after so I knew that I was on the mend!

Friday: rest
I rode my bike to campus and back. I didn’t have any class in the afternoon so the dog and I spent about an hour and a half walking by the river.

Saturday: 10 miles
This week’s run was supposed to be 11 miles but I figured 10 miles was good after only logging 3 miles all week. I carried my water pack with me and lots of kleenex and took it easy. The weather was cool and windy but still nice for running. In the evening it still felt summery enough to eat on the deck and Jonny cooked us a lovely dinner including some of his home-grown artichokes.

Sunday: rest
I’d wanted to go to yoga but felt that I couldn’t make it through class without a break. Instead Patches and I went for a couple of walks and did some work around the house.

Weekly Total: 13 miles and 1 strength workout.

I’m feeling a lot better, so my goal for this week is just to get back on my workout plan. My weekly milage should start to increase, so I want to make sure I’m ready for it.

One thought on “Half Marathon Training Week 6 (and some other stuff)

Leave a Reply

