Winter CSA Share #4

Our last CSA pick up before the holidays, so I’ll be saving some of the veggies for Christmas dinner. I had the option of purple or red potatoes with today’s share and I chose purple – I think they will look pretty at the dinner table even if they do lose some of their vibrant colour when cooked.

The cat and dog had a small fight over the CSA share when I brought it home and spread it out on the floor. I was worried that either a pet or the bread was going to get damaged so I didn’t have time to capture a great shot of it.

In the pickup were carrots, onions, leeks, garlic and sunchokes. We got some dried sage (my favourite herb) and some flaked oats with our grain share. I bought two loaves of bread from a baker at the market, which look nice and dense. Can’t wait to try them toasted with fresh honey!

I still have sunchokes left from share #2, but Jonny has apparently found a recipe in the LCBO magazine that uses them in a significant quantity. I have been using them when I can, but they are an unusual vegetable and I’m still trying to figure them out.

Leave a Reply

