End of the Month: December

End of December, end of 2011 – it’s been another good year. I finished my first year and started the second year of my teaching degree, we traveled, we gardened and we just generally hung out. It was a year for small adventures and trying new things where we live – our first CSA share, lots of miles walked and ran along the river and time spent on our deck.

I set 11 goals in January for 2011 and then added in one more, and here are the final results. I’m happy because in the end I accomplished tons more than this list. I’m going to be smarter with my goal setting in 2012, but since these are never major goals in my life, it’s really just for fun. Here’s what I finished from my original list in 2011:

Run a (nother) marathoncompleted in May! I’ve also completed another running goal – to run 1000 miles in a year – with my last run of 2011 today.

Stop Biting My Nails – I’m sure there will be moments of weakness in my future, but I think with continued willpower I have this one done!

Try something new once a month –in December we went to lots of new restaurants including Rush, Farm and Cilantro in the past couple weeks. Every month I did something new, so this one is crossed off the list.

Take a photograph of the night sky – My first and second star trails photos still leave room for improvement but also done!

Increase my backyard food production/eat locally – done! Completed by the end of August with the garden and the CSA.

Read 52 Books in a Year – I read 61 books this year – 6 non-fiction and the rest were a mix of young adult, mysteries, romance and general fiction. It’s been fun tracking what I’ve read so I’m going to continue this into the new year to see what kind of stuff I read in 2012.

Here’s what never happened:

Take 5 photos a week for the whole year16 photos this month. This seemed to be about the average. In 2012 I’m going to focus again on my photography, but with a subject instead of a volume goal.

Go on one canoe trip, one backpacking trip, one road trip and one camping trip in 2011 –Well, 2 out of 4.

Go on a picnic for picnic sake – Never did this, despite saying I was going to almost every weekend in the summer. We need to make some time for just hanging out, so I’m going to try this again in 2012.

And here’s what I gave up on keeping track of:

Get my grocery budget to $75/week

Cook one meal a week as a family

Bike/walk/bus more, drive less

Leave a Reply

