Two Weeks In

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about my lack of a running plan for 2012. I’m no further along in deciding if I’m actually going to run a marathon this spring but I have been training for it. Today was the end of week #2, so I’m on track to run Vancouver in May. So far the whole thing has been going pretty well. I’m using the same plan I used last year, with just a little bit more cross-training and strength workouts it in.

Week #1 looked like this:

Monday: 3 mile run + weights
Tuesday:  5 mile run
Wednesday: 3 mile run + weights
Thursday:Bikram yoga
Friday: 5 mile pace run (average 8:34 min/mile pace)
Saturday: 8 mile long run
Sunday: Rest

Totals – 25 miles, 2 strength workouts and 1 yoga workout

Week #2 was pretty similar:

Monday: 3 mile run + weights + Bikram yoga
Tuesday:  5 mile run
Wednesday: 3 mile run
Thursday: weights
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 10 mile long run
Sunday: Conditioning swim class + weights

Totals – 21 miles, 3 strength workouts and 1 yoga workout

Up until this weekend I’ve gotten pretty lucky with the weather but it looks like week #3 is going to be cold and snowy. My goal is going to be to get my week day runs done in the morning before I head to school so that I’m less likely to wimp out of running in the cold after work. I’d really like to be going to hot yoga twice a week as well, so that’s going to be my second goal this week. Things are going to be a little busier for me now but if I keep organised it shouldn’t be a problem to fit everything in.

Leave a Reply

