Home Made Flour Tortillas

Did you know how easy it is to make your own flour tortillas? No? Me neither, until I gave it a try tonight. Turns out they’re easy enough to make on a week night but taste so much better than the store-bought kind.

The idea to make our own tortillas started many years ago when my friend Carole had Jonny and I over for dinner. We made corn tortillas using a tortilla press and they were delicious. But as delicious as they were, we soon forgot about them. Then a couple of months ago Jonny found a tortilla press at the thrift store, which reminded us of those long ago corn tortillas, and our interest in making some of our own was renewed. I still have yet to use that tortilla press to make any tortillas because I haven’t bought any corn flour but at least I’m moving in the right direction. First rolled flour tortillas, then pressed corn tortillas!

Tonight’s tortilla recipe is the result of a google search for “flour tortilla recipe” and then chosing an interesting looking blog. I have to say I did a pretty good job because the flour tortilla recipe I found at Chickens in the Road was tasty, quick to prepare and used only ingredients I keep in my pantry at all times. There are two recipes available – I tried the thinner ones but plan to make the thicker ones at some point too. The dough needs to sit for 20 minutes but I let mine sit for over an hour while I lifted weights and waited for Jon to come home from work. The finished products didn’t seem any worse for wear. My only wish is that I had a cast iron pan because while they worked OK in my regular frying pan (medium heat, no oil) I think they would have cooked better in cast iron.

Leave a Reply

