Eggs! (and Winter CSA Share #6)

If you’ve been around for a while you know that this summer we signed up for our first CSA share. We loved our summer share so much that we signed up for a winter CSA. Then our farm started to offer a flour share, so we signed up for that as well. I seem to have a bit of an addiction to community shared agriculture – it really simplifies meal planning and grocery shopping! So imagine my excitement when I went to pick up today’s veggie and flour share and I was offered eggs as well. I’ve been wanting an egg share since they first announced it and I was so pumped to bring home what is hopefully just the first dozen heritage eggs:

Don’t they look beautiful?

I had a dinner/work meeting after school, so I didn’t get a photo of this weeks veggies (purple potatoes, carrots, onions, Jerusalem artichokes, garlic and dried garlic plus fresh flour) but they look a lot like week 5 veggies (carrots, beets, onions and potatoes plus oats and flour):

I do enjoy my winter share, but it is certainly more predictable than the summer share was. I’ve already signed up for next summer’s share and there looks like there are still share spots to be had for next summer if you’re interested in trying it out. I’ve switched pickup locations for this year and am really excited to be able to pick up my veggies closer to home and at a farmer’s market. I’ve gotten used to buying bread and fruit at the market this winter and I’ve excited that I’ll be able to keep this up during the summer.

3 thoughts on “Eggs! (and Winter CSA Share #6)”

Leave a Reply

