Books in January

I can’t belive that these are the books I read in January – having read most of these in the 9 days before I started back at school I sort of forgot about them.

(1) Running Blind (Jack Reacher #4) – Lee Child

I am slowly working my way through the whole series, although not always in order. I don’t really have anything to say about this particular novel in the series. It was entertaining but I think I was maybe suffering from Jack Reacher burnout having just read books #1 and #3 in December. It’s got the FBI, dead women and Jack having to make tough decisions about what he really wants in life.

(2) Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and (3) Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – J.K. Rowling

I was on a real roll with this – I read the first three books in the series between Christmas and New Years – but then I had a bit of a falling out with Harry part way through the Order of the Phoenix and decided I needed to take a break after I finished the book. I admit to not being in love with the series but I think that after a few weeks break I’m ready to tackle the remaining two books and finish off this goal for the year.

(4) Point of Impact (Bob Lee Swagger #1) – Stephen Hunter

A complete switch from Harry Potter. I’ve read a few other Stephen Hunter books so this one was exactly what I expected. This is the first story with Bob Lee Swagger but if you really want to get hooked you need to read book #3 (Time to Hunt).

(5) Outlander – Diana Gabaldon

This is our current book club book and I found it a quick read even though it is fairly long. It’s got time travel, romance, bad Englishmen, manly Scotts, numerous bad decisions that always end well and a heroine who, in my opinion, is way too calm about being accidentally transported back in time. I read most of it in an afternoon because I couldn’t put it down. Totally a guilty pleasure but I loved reading it, flaws and all.

(6) The Forest of Hands and Teeth – Carrie Ryan

One of my students was reading the third book in this series so I thought I’d see what they were about. I really struggled to get into this book and didn’t end up enjoying reading it. It’s got the undead, lost love and bad decisions that don’t turn out well for all involved.

Total Books Read in January: 6

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

February Goals: I started Cloud Atlas as my first selection from our shelf, but didn’t have the time to finish it in January. My first task for February is to finish it. After that I’m going to try the last two Harry Potter books. And finally, I’d like to read another book from the basement.

Leave a Reply

