A [Past] Trip to Toledo

Way back in 2009, Jonny and I took a trip to Spain. Perhaps too exhausted after working, I never wrote about many parts of our trip. While cleaning out my draft posts the other day, I came across this one that I started about our trip to Toledo in September 2009. I know that was a long time ago, but I thought I’d share anyways.

After our day in Madrid, Jonny and I woke up early to catch the train to Toledo. We were able to book two return tickets on the train to Toledo and soon found ourselves speeding towards the city. The train station is just outside the city, but it’s a quick walk to the main square. We didn’t really know where we were headed but we just followed roads up and up until we got to the middle.

Our plans for the day had been to just wander around, so that is exactly what we did. The buildings are beautiful, the city wasn’t crowded and we found a few nice little parks to look out at the surrounding countryside from.

One of the things that surprised me about Spain was how dry it was and the area we saw from Toledo was no different.

After what we felt was a suitable tour of the architecture, we took a little snack break and then spent some time browsing in the tourist shops. The one souvenir we picked up on our trip was purchased in Toledo – some ceramic house numbers. The cream puff that we purchased as a snack lasted about a minute.

By the time it was time to walk back to the train station, I think we’d both felt that we’d had our fill of the city. We were both happy to head back to Madrid for dinner and a good night’s sleep before our next outing (Museo Nacional del Prado in Madrid).

Leave a Reply

