Popcorn in a Brown Bag

I’m sure everyone already knows about this. I’m pretty sure I already knew about it but had just pushed it out of my brain until the other week when we were visiting a friend of Jon’s. While we stood in his kitchen chatting about winterizing our bee hives he made us (ok, me) a bag of popcorn in the microwave using nothing more than some kernels and a brown paper lunch bag. Brilliant!

I love popcorn so I’m amazed that it had actually taken a few weeks before I tried this method at home for myself. I do have an ancient air popper that I use when I want healthy popcorn (when it’s a treat, like caramel corn, I use the stove top method) but it is very loud and tends to get popcorn everywhere. Tonight I simply put popcorn kernels in a brown paper bag (I keep them on hand for going out to the movies so Jon and I can split our movie popcorn) and popped it in the microwave. Less than 3 minutes later I had delicious, fluffy popcorn with zero mess! This will join 2 Minute Mug Brownies as one of my “meet my cravings NOW!” recipes. It was the perfect snack will I worked away at the huge pile of marking I have.

Popcorn in a Brown Paper Bag

1. Put 1/3 cup of kernels in a brown paper bag

2. (Optional) Drop in a small (1-2 tbsp) chunk of butter if you want buttered popcorn. It also works without.

2. Put in the microwave. Set the timer for 3 minutes. Microwave until you get a 5 second break between pops. For me this was about 2 minutes and 15 seconds.

3. Open the bag – you can eat right of your brown bag if you haven’t added butter (it’s messy if you did add butter)

4. Or you can pour into a bowl and top with Frank’s Red Hot Sauce (or something different if you don’t like spicy popcorn).

2 thoughts on “Popcorn in a Brown Bag

  1. You do know that when you make popcorn on the stove you are supposed to put the lid on once you have added the single layer of popcorn? I love the paperbag method you’ve shared, great for no fat popcorn.

Leave a Reply

