Reading 2013 – Books in January and February

Confession: I didn’t finish a single book in January. Not even a trashy romance novel that I never count in my total. Nothing.

February was slightly better but still not up to my normal standards. I’ve started tracking my reading in Goodreads now that I do almost all my reading on the iPad. It will probably save me time once I start reading since I can either just scan my paperbacks or search for titles. But for the four books I’ve read in the first two months it did make much of a difference. Here’s what has been read in 2013 so far:

1. Middlesex – Jeffery Eugenides
I really enjoyed this book which is why I’m surprised it took me over a month and a half to finish.

2. The Devil in the White City – Erik Larson
My first non-fiction of the year and a good read. It is the story of the Chicago World Fair and reads like a fiction novel. If you read it, or have read it you should also check out this on-line collection of photos from the World Fair. I found it very interesting to see what the buildings actually looked like after reading about them.

3. Chronicles of a Death Foretold – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Didn’t love it but didn’t hate it. It was short too.

4. Freakonomics – Steven D Levitt
Another non-fiction (yay) but I didn’t love it. I didn’t have a problem with the seeming randomness but really just found it a little boring.

Looking forward: I have a few titles on the go and am looking forward to vacation at the end of the month where I except to spend a few days relaxing on the beach with a novel!

1 thought on “Reading 2013 – Books in January and February”

Leave a Reply

