Newfoundland Travels – What to Pack

While we had most of the logistics figured out months before our trip, what to pack to enjoy all those plans was something I didn’t really get figured out until right before we left. Our plans for Newfoundland were pretty casual so I didn’t think there would be much of a change between our small town and city adventures but the temperature varies so I knew I needed to pack for all seasons. Four adults and one rental car meant I wanted to keep my bag small so that packing wasn’t a struggle. And I wanted to be able to hike, run, swim and just be comfy hanging out. With this packing list I was able to meet all of my criteria and enjoy our trip!

Bag
I usually travel with a 40L pack but since we had a rental car for this vacation I opted instead for a duffle bag. I used the Lululemon Everyday Gym bag and it was the perfect size and really easy to get stuff in and out of. It held everything I needed for 12 days.

I also brought along a MEC Flux sling bag to use hiking and as my carry-on and a smaller purse to stash stuff in when went for dinner or out for a coffee.

Clothes

  • Jeans (2 pairs) – I brought one pair of dark and one pair of light wash
  • Shorts – I brought one pair of green khaki shorts
  • T-shirts (3) – I brought two merino t-shirts and one cotton t-shirt. One of the merino shirts was a hiking shirt but the other two were for everyday wear.
  • Leggings – I brought two pairs of Lulu Wunder Unders – one full length and one crop. I wore them to fly, hike and out for dinner with dresses when the weather was cool
  • Long sleeved t-shirts – I brought two long sleeved t-shirts, one for hiking and one nicer one for wearing around. It can be chilly so they worked well to layer up over t-shirts
  • Running clothes – shirts, t-shirt, long sleeved shirt and running capris covered all my running bases
  • Dress – I brought a super comfy shirt dress which was perfect with or without leggings
  • PJs – T-shirt and shorts
  • Swimsuit
  • Scarf – I bought a cheap infinity scarf and it was perfect for cooler days and napping on the plane
  • Hooded sweater – I brought a simple black hoodie that layered over everything
  • Rain coat – because it rains
  • Puffy jacket – a last minute addition but definitely appreciated
  • Under garments – I brought enough socks and underwear for 6 days and hand washed a couple of times. I packed a sports bra and two “regular” bras
  • Toque and mitts
  • Merino wool undershirt

Shoes

  • Running shoes – I used these to hike and walk around town
  • Merrell Barefoot Wonder Glove flats – my favourite shoes. Dressy enough for going out but comfortable enough to hike in
  • Flip flops

Toiletries

  • Essentials – toothbrush, toothpaste, deodorant and dental floss
  • Solid shampoo and conditioner from Lush
  • Moroccan Oil – to smooth my curls
  • Face wash and moisturizer
  • Sunscreen
  • Comb and hair elastics

Technology

  • iPhone and charger
  • iPad and charger
  • Garmin watch and charger
  • Pentax camera and charger

Extras

  • Nausea pills – for boat rides
  • Sunglasses
  • Swim goggles
  • A paper book (I mostly read on my iPad)
  • Reusable shopping bag – to grab groceries

It sounds like a ton of stuff but I used everything I’d brought which is the sign of a good packing list!

2 thoughts on “Newfoundland Travels – What to Pack

  1. Thanks for the tips, Jenny! I am taking my first trip to Newfoundland next week and am totally unsure of what to pack. This helps a lot!

Leave a Reply

