2013 Goals – Read 5 Books I Already Own

One of my goals for the year was to read 5 books that I already own. I had a bit of difficulty with this since some of my books got damaged by the cats so I had to wait to borrow a few that I really wanted to read out of the library but most of my reads were worth the wait.

1. Through Black Spruce – Joseph Boyden
I’ve had this book on my shelf for a long time but the synopses really didn’t inspire me to read it. I took it with me to Belize and ended up loving it. The plot is a great blend of mystery and history. Plus, it’s set in Canada.

2. The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson
I started this while I was on vacation and it was a laugh out loud by the pool type of read. Strange storyline but it kept me engaged.

3. The Tipping Point – Malcolm Gladwell
This was my read a little at a time book. I have read some of Gladwell’s other books and this one was a bit of a disappointment for me.

4. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis de Bernieres
Another vacation read – this time when we were in Newfoundland. I thought it would be terrible based on the cover (I have the movie cover version) but again, another excellent read. It took a little to get used to the writing style but once I was in I couldn’t put it down.

5. A Thousand Splendid Suns – Khaled Hosseini
I waited forever for this book to come from the library but it was definitely worth the wait. It was probably one of my favourite reads of the year. I was sure what to expect but I enjoyed the interwoven storyline.

I’m working away on my other reading goal (20 non-fiction books this year) but I’m glad I finished this one – I enjoyed what I read and now the books can go back to the thrift store to make room for new reads.

2 thoughts on “2013 Goals – Read 5 Books I Already Own

Leave a Reply

