Some Things from the Past Few Weeks

Life has been busy since winter break ended – both fun and less fun things keeping us on the go. Here is a quick snap shot of some of the things that have been going on.

Packing and Moving
Is it really less than two weeks until we move? Jon has been doing most of the packing and we’re making great progress but I really can’t wait until it is all done. I want my things back and I want my space back to being useable – not crammed full of packed boxes. And I can’t wait for our new place – everyday I think of another things I’m looking forward to (even though occasionally I already feel sad about some of the things we won’t have anymore).

imageimageOur dinning room is currently storing all our upstairs items while the basement is storing everything that was down there

Fitness
My new training plan is keeping me busy – lots of evening rides on the trainer, post-work swims and slippery runs. At least the sun is setting later so some of my runs are in daylight. I’m also adding in more dog walks and still fitting in some fun outings (like skating).

imageSun setting on an after work run
imageTired after running hills

Cooking

We’ve been cleaning up our eating which has meant lots of new recipes on the go. A few months ago Jon brought home 1/4 cow and we’ve got lots of beef to eat. Our meal plans all revolve around beef so this Asian Pepper Steak was a huge hit as were these burgers. I’ve also been on a smoothie kick (again) and am loving them for breakfast and the occasional dinner.

imageJust some of our meat supply waiting to be stored away

Pets and Other Animals

imageIt was super warm this weekend and the bees have been out and about. Moose Factory had lots of ladies out yesterday and they seemed quite upset that the +15C weather didn’t also have flowers like usual.

imageDonnelly has developed a huge TV addiction and is either right up in front of the TV these days or trying to sit on my lap to see better.

Other

I saw this post from Kayla the other day and decided to give it a try myself. And what do you know – these homemade hot rollers really do work. I need to find a few more toilet paper roles (I don’t have quite enough for my whole head) but they are easy and cheap – perfect for those post-Christmas budgets.

imageThis photo reminds me of one of the many things I’m looking forward to in the new house – a bathroom upstairs that I can actually use

I think that our life is going to continue in a similar (but maybe more frantic) way for the next two weeks until we finally get to the new place. I’m looking forward to all the new adventures in our new neighbourhood in a few weeks!

2 thoughts on “Some Things from the Past Few Weeks

  1. Oh man I love that you used toilet paper rolls to curl your hair! I want to see a photo of the after product though – it totally worked??

    Good luck with moving. Moving is such a PROCESS. I haven’t moved in just over 3 years but before that I moved at least once a year for 5 years. It did force me to clean out all my stuff on a yearly basis though!

    • My new house has much better mirrors so I’ll do some “after” pics once we’re settled. I was sceptical too but it adds a lot of volume to my hair!

      And the worst/best part of a move is the de-junking – we’ve been here almost 6 years and it is amazing how much piles up!

Leave a Reply

