What We Ate This Week – March 1, 2014

I love meal planning (and it has been really successful for us this year) but sometimes coming up with a week’s worth of recipes can take more time than I’ve got. I’ve been taking advantage of other people’s post about their weekly meal plans when I need some inspiration so I’m going to try and regularly share our weekly meals plan (maybe to provide a little inspiration for others). Last week’s meals are here.

A Quick Look at the Week

This week we had my Dad over for dinner on Monday, swimming on Tuesday and a trip to the airport on Thursday night. We’ve both been craving fruit and I wanted to try new recipes (all featuring ground beef of course). We shopped at Superstore so I ended up with a bunch of different fruits and veggies.

Breakfast

This chia seed pudding has been a delicious addition to my breakfast menu. I top it with strawberries and maple syrup and then eat it either before I head to school or as soon as I get there. I’ve still been having my morning smoothie – frozen banana, frozen fruit, yogurt, almond milk and protein powder.

image

Lunch

Our lunch salads this week were inspired by my recipe for Greek salad. I layered dressing, red onions, barley, cucumber, tomato and black olives in jars and then we mixed it with spinach at lunch time. I love how flavourful this dressing is – it was perfect with the spinach. Then we also had pears, mango and pineapple for snacks.

Dinners

Monday
Shepherd’s Pie with sweet potato topping and kale Caesar salads.

Tuesday
Meatza and salad. I topped my Meatza with salsa, avocado, cheese and red onion. I had pre-made the crusts so after swimming we just ex them in the oven and then added toppings

image

Wednesday
“Forage” night – this is where we eat whatever we can find. Jon had a huge salad topped with leftover deer sausage. I had some rice noodles, a mango and a can of sardines.

Thursday
Sweet Potato Enchiladas and salad. I sliced my sweet potatoes the wrong way so this was more of a layered “lasagna” but still very tasty.

How We Made it Work
Jon and I teamed up to shop at Superstore so it took us only about an hour. Once we got home I spent about 2 hours doing all the meal prep for the week. I cooked the ground beef for both the shepherds pie and enchiladas, made enchilada sauce, cooked my Meatza “crusts”, and prepped all the sweet potatoes.

image

It felt like a lot of work on a Sunday night but it made the week so easy! Everything kept really well in the fridge so I’d do this again.

imageBuy a new fridge is on our house repair list – our current apparent net style fridge just cant keep pace. Stacking all our food into it on Sunday is always a challenge!

Leave a Reply

