August Long Weekend Adventures

We had thought we might go camping for the long weekend but given that everyone else had the same idea we chose not to head out and instead spent the weekend doing lots of the things we would have done camping but from the comfort of our own home.

We sort of started the long weekend on Thursday. Jon took the day off and we ate a picnic breakfast (from the bakery) in the park. In the afternoon we went mini-golfing – I was particularly terrible at it.

Friday the plan had been to go camping, but that morning we called it off and instead I spent the day puttering around the house. I got lots done and felt ready to spend a weekend not doing any chores. We officially started our long weekend of “urban camping” with a BBQ to cook up some typical camp food. Then we all got on our bikes and rode around the neighborhood – I felt like a little kid sent out to play after dinner by riding loops around the campground.

Cruising the neighborhood
Cruising the neighborhood

After our ride we had a few drinks and played “Washer Toss”, which is very similar to horseshoes but involves throwing washers into boxes. Again, not a game I’m very good at.

Washer toss action
Washer toss action

Saturday we headed out to the mountains for some (easy) climbing and a picnic. We hiked into the climbing area near Mnt. Baldy (about a 1 km?) and then hung out there. The great thing about very short hikes is all the stuff you can bring – I packed in Patches’ beach blanket, my folding chair and a huge bag of cherries to snack on. I didn’t climb (still nursing that foot) but everyone else got a mini-lesson and did a few climbs. I had hoped to do some scrambling but a thunderstorm meant that Patches and I had to rush back to the safety of the car earlier than everyone else.

Jon does a little climbing
Jon does a little climbing

That evening we made pizza (our camping plan had been pizza pie irons) and hid from the thunder in the basement – a win for “camping” at home.

I used the pizza setting on my new stove and they turned out great!
I used the pizza setting on my new stove and they turned out great!

On Sunday we went to our usual swim club (exhausting) and then attempted to ride to Chestermere (this is my second attempt at it this year and I’m still not successful). We made it about 25 km from our house before Jon got a flat tire. Of course, we didn’t have a spare tube so got to spend some time finding the puncture and patching it. On the plus side, I got to use all my bike repair tools I haven’t had a chance to use yet!

Fixing the flat
Fixing the flat

We rode home after that which turned out to be enough exercise (50 km is a decent ride). We had planned to have a campfire that evening (what’s camping without a fire and s’mores?) but after weeks of dry weather, it poured with rain. Instead we (Patches) hid from the thunder in the basement and played shuffleboard. It was not my weekend for games as I lost again.

We ended the long weekend early – Jon went to work on Monday and I hung out at home while the plumber installed a new hot water tank – but it was fun to have even a few days that felt like real vacation!

Leave a Reply

