Sick Day

I had planned a post on Monday about how I was getting my sh*t together – I exercised (ran, rode by bike and lifted weights); I planned a week of healthy meals; and cleaned by bathroom for the first time in forever. However, I’m happy I didn’t post it because it is clear I’m not pulling anything together. I woke up around 1 am on Monday morning with chills and that awful feeling that can only be describe as “sick”. I made it through work on Tuesday but it was pretty clear by 5 pm that I wasn’t going to make it to work on Wednesday. The hot and cold flashes and uncontrollable shivering were a little uncomfortable.

So, instead I spent the better part of the morning in bed – I woke up around 8:30, fed the dog, and then went back to bed until noon. Oreo proved that when it comes to spending the day at home sick, he is the best companion. Oreo’s perfect day is spent on the bed sleeping and he is happy to have company.

In the afternoon I moved to the basement where I binged watched Netflix. I haven’t been sick in forever so I’ve forgotten how bored I get. I also forgot how big of a baby I am when I’m sick. Thank goodness I have no one but the pets to look after. Jon is so rarely away these days, but of course this is the week he is in the field. I was actually sort of looking forward it (before I got sick) but now I wish he was home to coddle me. Since he’s not, I’m coddling myself.

I have been on a soup diet since Tuesday morning (except that orange I ate for lunch, everything else right now just sounds so unappetizing) so tonight I treated myself to some beef ball soup. I keep the broth and meat balls frozen in individual servings and then all I have to do is heat it up and add some fresh veggies. It’s still soup, but a little more hearty than what I’ve been eating.

After a completely lazy day I am feeling better. I know that one day of rest isn’t going to cure me, but hopefully it will get me to the end of the week and winter break when I can recuperate.

2 thoughts on “Sick Day

Leave a Reply

